Find Us
1.800.565.9744
Member Portal
New Applicant Portal
Licence Status Check
Banner
Print this page

Forming a Specialty Interest Group for Registered Nurses (RNs)

What is a Specialty Interest Group?

A specialty interest group is a group of registered nurses and/or members of other health disciplines with similar clinical expertise or shared interests, that come together to form a group to enhance health care through their activities. The group needs to include a majority of RNs in its membership to be deemed a Specialty Interest Group for Registered Nurses. Scroll down for a full list of specialty interest groups supporting nursing practice in Nova Scotia.

What are the benefits of forming a Specialty Interest Group?

A specialty interest group provides a great opportunity for nurses to:

  • Share their passion for nursing around a specialty area or common interest
  • Link with other nurses from across Nova Scotia
  • Create and share professional development opportunities
  • Link with national nursing groups who could support the local group
  • Form a collective voice
  • Provide support to nurses with similar interests or facing common challenges.

How can the College of Registered Nurses of Nova Scotia (CRNNS) help?

CRNNS is happy to support specialty interest groups by providing information around how to form a specialty interest group and once certain requirements have been met, post the group’s information on the CRNNS’ specialty interest group website.

How would I set up a Specialty Interest Group?

Below are a set of suggested steps to establishing a specialty interest group.

  1. Determine if a national specialty interest group exists and if so collaborate with this group.
  2. Ensure there isn’t currently a provincial group. If there is, link with the group to explore ways you could work together rather than starting a separate group.
  3. Gather evidence to demonstrate the need and member interest for the group. For example, talk to your coworkers and/or host a meeting to determine the level of interest.
  4. Outline the goals of the group with interested members.
  5. Develop the bylaws/constitution. It may be helpful to contact existing groups to review their examples before developing your own.
  6. Once you have a group of approved members, hold a meeting to approve the bylaws/ constitution and to elect the group’s executive.
  7. Determine how you generate startup funds. For example, many groups charge a membership fee to do this.
  8. Contact the Registry of Joint Stock Companies to determine the requirements and to register the name of your group to protect the group’s name.
  9. Contact CRNNS to have your group added to CRNNS’ Specialty Interest Group webpage.
  10. Start to build interest in others by carrying out the work of your group.

If you have any questions, please contact a Practice Consultant at CRNNS at practice@crnns.ca.


Association of Nova Scotia Peri-Anesthesia Nurses

Canadian Society of Ophthalmic Registered Nurses

Mary Stairs
Atlantic Provinces Representative
Mary.Stairs@nshealth.ca

Wanda Mulrooney
treasurer@csorn.ca

www.csorn.ca

Canadian Association of Critical Care Nurses

Ashley Mowatt
President
mowatt.ashley@gmail.com

www.caccn.ca

Canadian Association of Nephrology Nurses and Technologists

Cathy Cake
Vice President Atlantic
Cathy.Cake@easternhealth.ca

www.cannt.ca

Canadian Association of Neuroscience Nurses

Joan Pacione
Provincial Councillor for NS
d.pacione@bellaliant.net

www.cann.ca

Canadian Association of Nurses in Oncology

Canadian Orthopaedic Nurses Association

Canadian Council of Cardiovascular Nurses

Jackie Frew
Provincial Director
jackie.frew@nshealth.ca

www.cccn.ca

Community Health Nurses of Canada

Corey MacKenzie
Nova Scotia Representative
c.mackenzie@wecare.ca

www.chnc.ca

Family Practice Nurses Association of Nova Scotia

Jill Morse
Membership Secretary
jillmorse2011@gmail.com

www.fpnans.ca

Infection Prevention and Control Canada

Mental Health Nurses Association of Nova Scotia

Past President:
Jane Hughes BN CFMHN(c)
Janehughes.ns@gmail.com
Cell: 902-452-2417

President Position Vacant

Vice President:
Karen Briand RN., MN CPMHN(C)
St. FX School of nursing
kabriand@live.ca

Treasurer:
Christine Green
Mental Health Services IWK and Seniors MH Outreach
Ch658808@dal.ca

Secretary:
Jeannine Corkery
Staff Nurse – IWK Garron Centre for Child and Adolescent Mental Health
Jeannine.corkery@iwk.nshealth.ca

Program Coordinator:
Tracy Bourdages BScN, RN, CPMHN, CEDRN
Staff Nurse/ Clinical Mentor and Eating Disorder Resource Nurse
IWK Garron Centre for Child and Adolescent Mental Health
tracy.bourdages@iwk.nshealth.ca

Member at Large:
Sydney Ellis RN
Staff Nurse IWK Garron Centre for Child and Adolescent Mental Health
Sydney.ellis@iwk.nshealth.ca

Nova Scotia Emergency Nurses Association

Mary Spinney
Provincial Director
spinneyme@hotmail.com

www.nena.ca

Nova Scotia Gerontological Nurses Association

Nova Scotia Nursing Informatics Group

Brenda MacDonald
Public Relations
Brenda.MacDonald@iwk.nshealth.ca

Sharon Forbrigger
President
Sharon.Forbrigger@nshealth.ca

www.nsnig.ca

Canadian Nursing Informatics Association
www.cnia.ca

Nurse Practitioners’ Association of Nova Scotia

Barbara Currie
Co-chair
barbara.currie@nshealth.ca

Kimberly Newton
Co-chair
kimberlyj.newton@nshealth.ca

www.npans.ca

Nursing History of Nova Scotia Group

Gloria Stephens
President
gloria.stephens@ns.sympatico.ca
902.455.9413

www.nursinghistorynovascotia.com

Occupational Health Nurses Association of Nova Scotia

Brenda Marsh and Heather Wilson
ohnansinfo@gmail.com

Operating Room Nurses Association of Nova Scotia

Ida Berry
idaberryornans@gmail.com

Jennifer Radtke-Jardine
President
ORNANSPresident@gmail.com

www.ornans.ca

Operating Room Nurses Association of Canada
www.ornac.ca

Urology Nurses of Canada

Emmi Champion
Provincial Representative
Emmi.Champion@nshealth.ca

www.unc.org

×
×
×
×
×
×
×
×
×